URSI International Symposium on
Electromagnetic Theory 2023

23-26 May 2023

The University of British Columbia

Vancouver, BC, Canada


UBC Dept of Electrical & Computer Engineering

      General Chair - Prof. David Michelson, The University of British Columbia

Technical Program Chair - Prof. John Volakis, Florida International University

The International Symposium on Electromagnetic Theory (EMTS 2023) was held from 23-26 May 2023 at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, BC, Canada. It was the twenty-fifth EMTS to be held since the first one was organized in Montreal by Prof. George Sinclair in 1953.

Organized by Commission B (Fields and Waves) of the International Union of Radio Science (URSI), EMTS 2023 was sponsored by the Canadian National Committee of URSI (CNC-URSI) and technically co-sponsored by the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society.

The conference offered plenary talks by distinguished speakers, regular oral and poster sessions, a one-day summer school (Tue, May 23), technical tours, and a number of Young Scientist Awards that cover the registration fee and accommodation during the conference. Business meetings, receptions, and a conference banquet were also held.

EMTS 2023 boasted some impressive statistics, including: 231 Registered Attendees, 213 Presented Papers, 34 Technical Sessions including 24 Special Sessions and 5 General Tracks, 16 Young Scientists, 5 General Tracks, 4 Plenary Speakers (2 from academia and 2 from industry), and 2 Scientific Tours of TRIUMF, Canada’s national particle accelerator lab.

Special thanks to the University of British Columbia (Conferences & Accommodation and Electrical & Computer Enginering), Peake Catering, and our six commercial exhibitors/patrons – Testforce, Altair, Rohde & Schwarz, DV Test, QAI Labs, Anritsu, and Ansys – for helping to create such a warm atmosphere for both social interaction and technical discussions.

Our congratulations to the sixteen Young Scientist Awardees, including those who received cash prizes or honourable mention:

          First Prize: US$1000             Thomas E. Roth

          Second Prize: US$750          Mariana Dalarsson

          Third Prize: $250 each          Adrien Merlini

                                                                       Matthias Saurer

         Honourable Mention:             Martina Teresa Bevacqua

                                                                       Cristina Origlia

                                                                       Boyuan Zhang

                                                                                                                                                                                             Prof. David G. Michelson

                                                                                                                                                                                            General Chair

                                                                                                                                                                                            Prof. John Volakis

                                                                                                                                                                                            Technical Program Committee Chair

For conference assistance, please send a message to emts@ursi.ca.

EMTS thanks our Conference Patrons and Supporters

© 2023 CNC-URSI